kontakt@rotwang-law.de

030/235 9888-0

Online counselling

Request comprehensive file inspection

Inspection of files in criminal proceedings

You have the right to inspect files in criminal or administrative proceedings. This only applies if you belong to the entitled group of persons - for example, as a defendant. This right serves the right to a fair trial and is intended to create "equality of arms" in the citizen-state relationship. In this way, you receive information about the state of knowledge of the authorities. Therefore, you should not testify to the police or the public prosecutor's office before you have had access to the file. In addition, you can see from the file how the authority assesses your case and on what they base their argumentation. This is the only way you can avoid surprising decisions and prepare for your proceedings. We support you in requesting comprehensive access to the file.

 

Inspection of files in criminal proceedings: Who may inspect the files

In criminal proceedings, the parties concerned are given the legal right to inspect the files. This primarily includes the defendants. However, it is also open to joint plaintiffs or the representatives of joint plaintiffs to demand inspection of the files in order to assess the legal situation. The accused are granted access to the criminal files in order to comply with Article 6 (3) of the European Commission on Human Rights. This article grants every accused person in a criminal trial the right to a fair trial.

Section 147 of the Code of Criminal Procedure is derived from Art. 6 para. 3 of the ECHR. The right to inspect files, which is laid down there, is intended to ensure equal opportunities; every accused person should know in all details what he or she is accused of and how this accusation came about.

 

Inspection of files in criminal proceedings: Reasons

The inspection of files is indispensable for defence lawyers in criminal proceedings as well as for representatives of joint plaintiffs. Without precise knowledge of the factual and legal situation, the accusation on which the penalty order is based cannot be reviewed and certainly not assessed.

The accused themselves naturally see the incident differently than witnesses or the police. And also in the statements of the witnesses, the recording of the incident and the questioning of the accused by the police, deviating descriptions are quite normal. There is by no means always bad faith behind it, although this cannot be ruled out either. In order to get a comprehensive picture of the big picture, to crystallise facts and to uncover contradictions, it is very important for the lawyer to inspect the files.

 

Who gets access to the files?

The legislator has precisely defined which group of persons has a right to inspect files in criminal proceedings.

 

Inspection of files by the accused

The right of the accused person or persons, insofar as they are not represented by a defence lawyer, is laid down in section 147(4). It states that accused persons are entitled to inspect files and to view officially kept evidence. This must be done under supervision; the files are not handed over to the accused for inspection. However, restrictions apply here: If the accused could gain knowledge through the inspection of files that would impair the investigation or interests of third parties worthy of protection, the inspection of files may be refused.

Accused persons may feel this to be unfair, but the restriction is irrelevant to the criminal proceedings themselves. As a rule, the possibility to inspect the file is of little use to an accused who is not professionally experienced. He usually cannot assess the legal situation and interpret protocols contained in the file accordingly. Since a public defender of rights is appointed in the course of the proceedings - or, in the case of a so-called "necessary defence", a public defender of rights is appointed - the public defender of rights can and will take over the necessary inspection of the files.

Anyone who would like to know more information about the offence with which he or she is charged is generally better advised to request a lawyer to inspect the files. In particular, if there is a suspicion that the offence is at least partially true, a lawyer should definitely be commissioned to inspect the files. This can result in a professional assessment of whether the penalty order should be accepted or whether, after an objection against it, the sentence should be passed in a main hearing, since a more favourable sentence can then be expected.

 

Inspection of files by the lawyer

Already at an early stage of the investigation, but also and especially after the existence of a penalty order, the lawyers instructed by the accused have the right to inspect the files. This follows from section 147 (1) of the Code of Criminal Procedure; the following paragraphs determine which conditions may apply in individual cases.

Unlike the accused, lawyers do not have to limit themselves to inspecting the file in court. They are handed the file, and usually have three days to assess the state of affairs, the witness statements, the allegations of the offence and the objections of the joint plaintiff. This gives lawyers enough time to make copies of relevant documents and discuss them in detail with their clients.

Restrictions may also apply to the inspection of files by the lawyer. However, inspection of expert opinions and minutes of judicial acts at which the presence of a lawyer would have been admissible may not be denied.

 

Inspection of files in criminal proceedings: Development of the defence strategy

The purpose of an inspection of files is to develop a defence strategy for proceedings that are imminent or have already been initiated by the penalty order. However, since the proceedings can already be set in the wrong direction for the accused during the first interrogation by the police, it is important to hire a lawyer quickly.

 

Summons for questioning by the police

At this point at the latest, you as the accused should know that you do not have to give any information on the matter and that you should not give any at first. This legal instruction by the arresting police officers does not necessarily always take place within the required framework. What you can be asked to provide is information about your person. You do not have to answer any other questions. However, if you would like to make direct statements on the matter, we recommend a non-binding conversation with our law firm. We can first give you general advice. Once we have inspected the files, we will discuss whether and to what extent it makes sense to make a statement about the facts of the case.

Please also do not disclose further information about the facts of the case in an informal conversation with police officers. Even if you do not sign a formal interrogation protocol after such a conversation, it cannot be ruled out that your statements made in the conversation will be referred to elsewhere (e.g. on the back of the summons to the interrogation, a note attached to the file or the back of the interrogation protocol). Even general remarks simply said in a seemingly non-committal conversation can have a detrimental effect on you.

 

What should I do if I receive a penalty order?

Once the investigations - from the police's and the public prosecutor's point of view - have been completed, a penalty order will be issued. This will be sent to you by registered mail with a delivery note. It does not pay to refuse to accept it, even if this is propagated in certain internet groups. From a legal point of view, the respective document from a court is nevertheless considered to have been served. This is stipulated in § 179 ZPO. It is better to accept the penalty order and contact us quickly. Only when we - and you - know the exact charge can we proceed in a targeted manner and react accordingly.

Tip: Remember that the time limit for lodging an appeal begins when you receive the penalty order. It is only two weeks from the date of service. The objection must be received by the court within this period. Therefore, call us immediately after receiving the penalty order so that we can take further steps for you.

 

Inspection of files in criminal proceedings: Expiry of deadline

Even if the penalty order is forwarded in good time, it is not always possible for lawyers to obtain access to the files within the relatively short time limit. Often the public prosecutor's office or the criminal judge need the files to prepare for the trial, the defence lawyer of another party to the offence had given priority to requesting access to the files, or the lawyer of the joint plaintiffs was also earlier with his request. However, as long as the files have not been inspected, the facts of the case cannot be assessed and the further procedure cannot be structured.

Therefore, in such cases, we file an objection to the penalty order purely as a precaution. If, after inspecting the files, it turns out that it will be more reasonable to accept the penalty order, we can withdraw this objection at any time. The penalty order will then become final. The sentence imposed - either a fine or imprisonment - must be served. As a rule, however, the court or the state treasury issues separate summonses for this. If no appeal is lodged, the penalty order becomes final, even if there would have been a legitimate chance to eliminate the offence or at least to minimise the penalty imposed.

 

Inspection of files in criminal proceedings: for joint plaintiffs and representatives

If someone has been seriously injured by the crime, this person has the right to appear as a joint plaintiff. This does not necessarily mean that serious crimes have been committed. Even an accident that was the fault of the person who caused the injury can result in a penalty order being issued against the person who caused the injury, and the other party can attend the criminal proceedings and contribute to the outcome of the trial.

For this group of persons, the right to inspect files arises from section 406 e of the Code of Criminal Procedure. The fact that the outcome of the criminal proceedings is not only important for the victims in terms of criminal law, but also in terms of civil law, makes file inspection particularly important. Claims for damages may depend on the guilty verdict, such as insurance benefits or direct payments by the offender.

However, the competent courts may also deny access to files if this could interfere with the examination of the aggrieved party or parties, e.g. if police records influence the memory. Therefore, a justified and concrete interest must be proven. We assert this with our application for access to the files.

 

Inspection of files in criminal proceedings: Costs and procedure

When we request comprehensive file inspection, we conveniently transmit the contents of your file to you online. All you have to do is send us the necessary data and a power of attorney via our contact form.

Afterwards, you will receive an initial assessment regarding the strategic position and recommended course of action.

Hierfür berechnen wir einmalig 250,00 EUR (inkl. Umsatzsteuer).

If you only wish to inspect the file and have it sent to you (without an assessment), we charge a one-time fee of EUR 100.00 (incl. VAT).

Contact us directly now.

Contact form

1 Step 1

Details of the authority and your procedure

If the file is more than 50 pages thick, additional processing costs of 20 cents per page may apply.

keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft – WordPress form builder

kontakt@rotwang-law.de

030/235 9888-0

Online-Beratung

Umfassende Akteneinsicht beantragen

Akteneinsicht Strafverfahren

In einem straf- oder verwaltungsrechtlichen Verfahren haben Sie das Recht Akteneinsicht zu nehmen. Dies gilt nur, wenn Sie zum berechtigten Personenkreis – etwa als Beschuldigte:r – gehören. Dieses Recht dient dem Recht auf ein faires Verfahren und soll im Verhältnis Bürger-Staat „Waffengleichheit“ herstellen. So erhalten Sie Informationen über den Kenntnisstand der Behörde. Daher sollten Sie nicht bei der Polizei oder Staatsanwaltschaft aussagen, bevor Sie keine Einsicht in die Akte hatten. Außerdem können Sie der Akte entnehmen, wie die Behörde Ihre Angelegenheit beurteilt und worauf sie ihre Argumentation stützt. Nur so können Sie überraschende Entscheidungen verhindern und sich auf Ihr Verfahren vorbereiten. Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, umfassend Akteneinsicht zu beantragen.

 

Akteneinsicht Strafverfahren: Wer darf Akteneinsicht erhalten

In einem Strafverfahren wird den Betroffenen das gesetzliche Recht der Akteneinsicht ermöglicht. Darunter fallen in erster Linie die Beklagten. Aber auch Nebenklägern bzw. den Nebenklägervertretern steht es offen, zur Beurteilung der Rechtslage Akteneinsicht zu fordern. Den Beschuldigten wird die Einsicht in die Strafakten gewährt, um dem Artikel 6 Abs. 3 der Europäischen Menschenrechtskommission gerecht zu werden. Dieser gesteht jedem Beschuldigten in einem Strafprozess das Recht auf ein faires Verfahren zu.

Aus Art. 6 Abs. 3 der EMRK leitet sich der § 147 der Strafprozessordnung ab. Das dort niedergeschriebene Recht auf Akteneinsicht soll eine Chancengleichheit gewähren, jeder Beschuldigte soll in allen Details wissen, was ihm vorgeworfen wird und wie es zu diesem Vorwurf kam.

 

Akteneinsicht Strafverfahren: Gründe

Die Akteneinsicht ist sowohl für die Verteidiger im Strafverfahren als auch für Nebenklägervertreter unerlässlich. Ohne genaue Kenntnis der Sach- und Rechtslage kann der dem Strafbefehl zugrunde gelegte Tatvorwurf nicht überprüft und erst recht nicht beurteilt werden.

Die Angeklagten selbst sehen den Vorfall naturgemäß anders als Zeugen oder die Polizei. Und auch bei den Aussagen der Zeugen, der Aufnahme des Vorfalls und der Vernehmung der Beschuldigten durch die Polizei sind abweichende Schilderungen ganz normal. Dahinter steckt keineswegs immer böse Absicht, obwohl diese auch nicht auszuschließen ist. Um sich aus dem großen Ganzen ein umfassendes Bild zu machen, Fakten herauszukristallisieren und Widersprüche aufzudecken, ist Akteneinsicht durch den Rechtsanwalt sehr wichtig.

 

Wer bekommt Akteneinsicht?

Der Gesetzgeber hat genau definiert, welcher Personenkreis ein Recht auf Akteneinsicht im Strafverfahren hat.

 

Akteneinsicht durch den Beschuldigten

Das Recht des oder der Beschuldigten, soweit diese nicht von einem Verteidiger vertreten werden, ist in § 147 Abs. 4 festgelegt. Er sagt aus, dass Beschuldigte berechtigt sind, Akten einzusehen und amtliche verwahrte Beweisstücke zu besichtigen. Dies muss unter Aufsicht geschehen; die Akten werden zur Einsichtnahme nicht an den Beschuldigten herausgegeben. Hier gelten allerdings Einschränkungen: Wenn der Beschuldigte durch die Akteneinsicht Wissen erlangen könnte, dass die Ermittlungen oder schutzwürdige Interessen Dritter beeinträchtigen würde, darf die Akteneinsicht verweigert werden.

Dies mögen Beschuldigte als ungerecht empfinden, für das Strafverfahren selbst spielt die Einschränkung jedoch keine Rolle. Die Möglichkeit zur Akteneinsicht nützt in der Regel einem nicht fachlich versierten Beschuldigten kaum. Er kann meistens die Rechtslage nicht beurteilen und in der Akte enthaltene Protokolle nicht entsprechend interpretieren. Da im Verlaufe eines Verfahrens die Beauftragung eines Wahlverteidigers – oder bei der sogenannten “notwendigen Verteidigung” die Bestellung eines Pflichtverteidigers erfolgt, kann und wird dieser die erforderliche Akteneinsicht übernehmen.

Wer vorab mehr Informationen über die ihm zur Last gelegte Straftat wissen möchte, ist grundsätzlich besser beraten, die Akteneinsicht durch einen Rechtsanwalt beantragen zulassen. Insbesondere dann, wenn die Vermutung besteht, dass der Straftatbestand zumindest teilweise zutrifft, sollte unbedingt einen Rechtsanwalt mit der Akteneinsicht beauftragten. Aus dieser kann nach fachlicher Beurteilung resultieren, ob der Strafbefehl angenommen wird oder nach einem Widerspruch gegen diesen das Urteil in einer Hauptverhandlung getroffen werden sollte, da dann mit einem günstigeren Strafmaß gerechnet werden kann.

 

Akteneinsicht durch den Rechtsanwalt

Bereits in einem frühen Stadium der Ermittlungen, aber auch und gerade nach dem Vorliegen eines Strafbefehls, steht den von den Beschuldigten beauftragten Rechtsanwälten das Recht auf Akteneinsicht zu. Dies ergibt sich aus § 147 StPO Abs. 1, die nachfolgenden Absätze bestimmen, welche Voraussetzungen dafür im Einzelfall gelten können.

Anders als der Beschuldigte müssen Rechtsanwälte sich nicht auf die Einsicht bei Gericht beschränken. Sie bekommen die Akte ausgehändigt, in der Regel stehen drei Tage für die Beurteilung des Sachstands, der Zeugenaussagen, den Tatvorwürfen und Nebenklägereinwänden zur Verfügung. Dadurch bleibt Rechtsanwälten genügend Zeit, sich von relevanten Schriftstücken Kopien zu fertigen und diese im Detail mit den Mandanten zu besprechen.

Für die Akteneinsicht durch den Rechtsanwalt können ebenfalls Beschränkungen gelten. Nicht versagt werden darf jedoch der Einblick in Gutachten von Sachverständigen und in Protokolle über richterliche Handlungen, bei denen die Anwesenheit eines Rechtsanwalts zulässig gewesen wären.

 

Akteneinsicht Strafverfahren: Entwicklung der Verteidigungsstrategie

Sinn und Zweck einer Akteneinsicht ist es, eine Verteidigungsstrategie für ein drohendes oder bereits durch den Strafbefehl eingeleitetes Verfahren zu entwickeln. Da aber bereits bei der ersten Vernehmung durch die Polizei das Verfahren in eine falsche, für den Beschuldigten ungute Richtung gelegt werden kann, ist die rasche Beauftragung des Rechtsanwalts wichtig.

 

Vorladung zur Einvernahme bei der Polizei

Spätestens jetzt sollten Sie als Beschuldigter wissen, dass Sie keine Angaben zur Sache machen müssen und auch zunächst keine machen sollten. Diese Rechtsbelehrung durch die aufnehmenden Polizisten erfolgt nicht unbedingt immer im erforderlichen Rahmen. Was von Ihnen verlangt werden kann, sind Angaben zur Person. Auf alle anderen Fragen müssen Sie nicht antworten. Möchten Sie dennoch direkt Angaben zur Sache machen,empfehlen wir in jedem Fall ein unverbindliches Gespräch mit unserer Kanzlei. Wir können Sie zunächst allgemein beraten. Nach erfolgter Akteneinsicht besprechen wir dann, ob und in welchem Umfang Einlassungen zum vorgeworfenen Sachverhalt sinnvoll sind.

Bitte geben Sie auch nicht in einer informell wirkenden Unterhaltung mit Polizeibeamten weitere Informationen zum Sachverhalt preis. Auch wenn Sie nach einem solchen Gespräch kein formelles Vernehmungsprotokoll unterschreiben, ist nicht auszuschließen, dass an anderer Stelle (z.B. Rückseite der Ladung zur Vernehmung, einem der Akte beigefügten Zettel oder der Rückseite des Vernehmungsprotokolls) auf Ihre im Gespräch gemachten Einlassungen Bezug genommen wird. Selbst allgemein gehaltene, einfach dahin gesagte Bemerkungen in einer scheinbar unverbindlichen Unterhaltung können sich nachteilig für Sie auswirken.

 

Was tun bei Erhalt eines Strafbefehls?

Sind die Ermittlungen – aus polizeilicher Sicht und der des Staatsanwalts – abgeschlossen, ergeht ein Strafbefehl. Dieser wird Ihnen per Einschreiben mit Übergabeschein zugestellt. Es zahlt sich nicht aus, die Annahme zu verweigern, auch wenn dies in bestimmten Internetgruppen so propagiert wird. Rechtlich gesehen gilt das jeweilige Schriftstück eines Gerichts nämlich trotzdem als zugestellt. Dies ist in § 179 ZPO verfügt. Besser ist es, den Strafbefehl entgegenzunehmen und rasch Kontakt zu uns aufzunehmen. Erst wenn wir – und Sie – den genauen Tatvorwurf kennen, können wir zielgerichtet vorgehen und entsprechend reagieren.

Tipp: Denken Sie daran, dass mit dem Erhalt des Strafbefehls die Frist zum Einspruch beginnt. Sie beträgt lediglich zwei Wochen ab Zustellung. Binnen dieser Frist muss der Einspruch bei Gericht eingegangen sein. Rufen Sie uns deshalb sofort nach Erhalt des Strafbefehls an, damit wir die weiteren Schritte für Sie übernehmen können.

 

Akteneinsicht Strafverfahren: Fristablauf

Auch bei der rechtzeitigen Weiterleitung des Strafbefehls ist es für Anwälte nicht immer möglich, binnen der relativ kurzen Frist Akteneinsicht zu erhalten. Oft benötigen die Staatsanwaltschaft oder der Strafrichter die Akten zur Prozessvorbereitung, der Verteidiger eines anderen an der Straftat Beteiligten hatte vorrangig Akteneinsicht beantragt oder der Rechtsanwalt der Nebenkläger war ebenfalls mit seinem Wunsch früher dran. Solange die Akteneinsicht aber nicht erfolgt ist, kann der Sachverhalt nicht beurteilt und das weitere Vorgehen nicht strukturiert werden.

Deshalb legen wir in solchen Fällen rein vorsorglich Einspruch gegen den Strafbefehl ein. Stellt sich nach Akteneinsicht heraus, dass die Annahme des Strafbefehls vernünftiger sein wird, können wir diesen Einspruch jederzeit wieder zurücknehmen. Der Strafbefehl wird dann rechtskräftig. Die verhängte Strafe – entweder Geld- oder Freiheitsstrafe – muss verbüßt werden. Dazu ergehen aber in der Regel gesonderte Aufforderungen des Gerichts bzw. der Staatskasse. Wird dagegen kein Einspruch eingelegt, wird der Strafbefehl rechtskräftig, auch wenn durchaus berechtigte Chancen bestanden hätten, den Straftatbestand auszuräumen oder zumindest die ausgesprochene Strafe zu minimieren.

 

Akteneinsicht Strafverfahren: für Nebenkläger und -vertreter

Wurde durch die Straftat jemand schwer verletzt, steht dieser Person das Recht zu, als Nebenkläger aufzutreten. Dahinter müssen keineswegs schwere Verbrechen stehen. Auch ein verschuldeter Unfall führt dazu, dass ein Strafbefehl gegen den Verursacher ergeht und die Gegenseite dem Strafverfahren beiwohnen und zum Prozessausgang beitragen kann.

Für diesen Personenkreis ergibt sich Recht auf Akteneinsicht aus § 406 e StPO. Dass der Ausgang des Strafverfahrens für die Opfer nicht nur in strafrechtlicher Hinsicht wichtig ist, sondern auch in zivilrechtlicher, macht die Akteneinsicht besonders wichtig. Vom Schuldspruch können Schadensersatzansprüche abhängen, wie etwa Versicherungsleistungen oder direkte Zahlungen durch den Straftäter.

Allerdings können hier die zuständigen Gerichte Akteneinsicht ebenfalls verwehren, wenn dies eine Einvernahme des oder der Geschädigten beeinträchtigen könnte, etwa dadurch, dass durch Polizeiprotokolle die Erinnerung beeinflusst wird. Es muss deshalb ein berechtigtes und konkretes Interesse nachgewiesen werden. Dieses machen wir mit unserem Antrag auf Akteneinsicht geltend.

 

Akteneinsicht Strafverfahren: Kosten und Vorgehen

Wenn wir umfassende Akteneinsicht beantragen, übermitteln wir Ihnen den Inhalt Ihrer Akte bequem online. Sie müssen nichts weiter tun, als uns die dafür benötigten Daten und eine Vollmacht über unser Kontaktformular zukommen zu lassen.

Im Anschluss erhalten Sie eine erste Einschätzung hinsichtlich der strategischen Position und empfohlenen Vorgehensweise.

Hierfür berechnen wir einmalig 220,00 EUR (inkl. Umsatzsteuer).

Wenn Sie lediglich das Akteneinsichtsgesuch und Übersendung der Akte (ohne Einschätzung) wünschen, berechnen wir hierfür einmalig 100,00 EUR (inkl. Umsatzsteuer).

Nehmen Sie jetzt direkt Kontakt zu uns auf.

Kontaktformular

1 Step 1

Angaben zur Behörde und zu Ihrem Verfahren

Bei einer Aktenstärke von über 50 Seiten können zusätzliche Bearbeitenkosten i.H.v. 20 Cent pro Seite anfallen.

keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft - WordPress form builder